Let me count the days

I am bound to go back to regular programming in two weeks.

What's inside

Come November 16 I’d be taking calls again and, truth be told, I don’t know how to feel about this. Yes, I loathe the industry, I can’t stand the thought of having to deal with some colleagues I’d ignore under different circumstances and I could go on and on about that BUT I do miss talking to foreigners over the phone in a way that only someone who had a month-long leave does. Going back would also help me save up for that one thing I intend to buy for my future writing pursuits, make myself useful to my family, add books to my growing backlog and spend time with friends over coffee once every two weeks. Volunteering wouldn’t let me achieve any of that, unless the company decides to hire me and we all know that’s not going to happen anytime soon. Three bylines, two of which shared with a co-intern and one with my supervisor, for articles I’m not that proud to share on Facebook, are all I can get so far. And that’s fine with someone who’s not even expecting a byline having been assigned to the research unit.

For now I think it’s best to live in the moment and quit looking too far ahead. I’d focus on completing the 200-hour internship requirement, go back to work when the time comes, and then cross the proverbial bridge when I get there. Or most probably when I get the bonus.

About MG

Black against white.
This entry was posted in Photographs, Workplace woes. Bookmark the permalink.

Hey, say something:

